Description

Tockay’s Tadelakt is a lime coating inspired by an ancient Moroccan tradition. Its qualities are identical to those of the lime of Marrakech: brilliant and resistant to water. Tadelakt is not only applied on walls, it can also be applied on sinks, table tops, tiles and terracotta pottery, and of course in hammams. The technique of laying Tadelakt is for the initiated. It is applied with different spatulas to tighten it, then a ceramic pebble, and finally it is polished with Marseille soap.

 

Application

PREPARATION OF TADELAKT

Pour the powder into the indicated amount of clean, cold water, stir using a powerful mixer (a drill with a whisk attachment) until a lump-free paste is obtained. Clean the edge of the bucket with a trowel from time to time. Let stand for at least 30 minutes, mix again before use.

This preparation should be used within 8 to 10 hours.

 

QUANTITY OF WATER TO USE

0,25 litre of water for 1kg of powder. The quantity of water can be increased if necessary.

 

TINT

Tadelakt can be tinted with a maximum of 10% of Tockay pigments. For example: 10kg of Tadelakt can be tinted with 1kg of pigment. The amount of pigment should not exceed 5% for iron oxide and titanium white pigments.

Mix the pigments with a little water until a lump-free paste is obtained. A better result is obtained by dissolving the pigments with demineralized water. Then add the pigments, either in the water of preparation of Tadelakt, before incorporating the powder of Tadelakt, or directly in Tadelakt already prepared. Mix everything well to obtain a uniform color. Clean the edges of the bucket from time to time with a trowel.

 

RECOMMENDED TOOLS

– Ceramic roller for Tadelakt

– Plastic spatula (3 pieces of different sizes)

– Smoothing trowel (200 x 80 mm)

The ceramic pebble, used as a polishing stone, has a hardness of 9.5 (Mohs) and is free of pores.

 

SUITABLE SURFACES

The most suitable surfaces for Tadelakt, in dry or humid areas, are masonry surfaces covered with a layer of at least 1.5 cm of lime plaster or lime/cement plaster, both untreated and solid. Tadelakt can then be applied directly on this surface.

The following surfaces can be covered with Tadelakt only after having been coated with a casein primer and an intermediate layer of 0.9 mm lime plaster: plasterboard, plaster-cellulose, gypsum plaster, cement fiber boards, concrete.

Surfaces composed of panels must be completely reinforced if necessary: insert a fiberglass mesh in the lime plaster, then cover it.

Surfaces must be dry and rough: Tadelakt should not be applied on smooth surfaces. Apply the coating in such a way as to round the corners and edges, avoid accentuating their angle. Do not use corner molding. Remove binder build-up and sinter from coated surfaces.

Tadelakt is not suitable for constantly wet surfaces.

In dry areas, Tadelakt can also be applied over clay plasters. The strength of a clay plastered surface is paramount and the subsequent application of Tadelakt is at your own risk. We recommend to pre-harden the surface with potassium water glass, dilution: 1 part potassium water glass + 3 parts water. Allow to dry at least 24 hours.

Then apply a coat of casein primer, followed by an intermediate coat of 1.4 mm lime plaster with a fiberglass mesh.

 

IN WET AREAS

Ensure proper water drainage on shower walls and around bathtubs. Since silicone does not adhere to soaped Tadelakt, separate the Tadelakt surfaces from the floors and tubs with a mosaic or tile strip and then seal the joint with silicone. Please refer to the detailed drawing on the last page of the Technical Data Sheet.

In wet areas, the use of a waterproofing primer is recommended. Do not apply Tadelakt over clay plasters in wet areas.

 

APPLICATION

Tadelakt must be applied in two layers. These two coats, as well as the first treatment with soap, must be done in the same day.

Protect the Tadelakt from drying out too quickly during application, avoid drafts, high temperatures and direct sunlight. Wet dry surfaces before application.

 

1st coat of Tadelakt:

Trowel the first coat of Tadelakt over the entire surface to a thickness just larger than the grain size (approx. 1-1.5 mm). Allow to harden until the surface becomes impact resistant. The 1st coat of Tadelakt should not be smoothed, polished or densified and should not dry completely before the application of the 2nd coat.

 

2nd coat of Tadelakt:

Trowel the 2nd coat of Tadelakt over the entire surface to a thickness just larger than the grain size (approx. 1-1.5 mm) and allow to set. Flat surfaces can be trowelled tight. Then polish the surface by moving the ceramic roller in small circles and exerting light pressure until all pores are closed and the gloss is achieved. The correct time for clamping and polishing  can vary greatly and depends on the absorption of the substrate, its residual moisture, and the environmental conditions.

 

1st coat of soap:

The first coat of soap should be applied shortly after the polishing of the 2nd coat of Tadelakt. The Tadelakt should not have dried completely, it should remain slightly damp. Dilute the smoothing soap: 1 part soap + 6 parts water. Apply with a flexible brush the soap solution in a uniform way and remove the excess. Let it work for a while, then polish with the ceramic roller until you get an even shine.

 

2nd coat of soap:

When the surface is completely dry (maximum after 2 days), apply the soap solution again. Let it work for a while, then polish the surface with a ball made of plastic sheet (HDPE, like a transparent plastic bag).

 

ADDITIONAL TREATMENTS

To obtain a higher shine, Tadelakt can be waxed. Use the wax only on soaped surfaces. Never use it on wet areas or areas affected by water splashes (risk of white spots).

Apply a thin layer of Punic Wax with a soft cloth and buff directly with the cloth.

You can increase the shine in the same way with Tockay Carnauba wax emulsion.

 

CLEANING AND MAINTENANCE

Cleaning: Clean Tadelakt surfaces only with water and a little Marseille or Corfu soap: about 1-2 teaspoons per 8 litres of water. Use a soft sponge.

To avoid lime deposits, dry the shower walls with a soft cloth after each use.

Do not use other household cleaners, scouring sponges or microfiber cloths!

 

Maintenance: To preserve the functionality of the wet areas, soap should be applied to Tadelakt every 1-2 months. Avoid matte areas which should be treated directly with soap. For all the rest, apply diluted smoothing soap (see above “1st layer of soap”). After a short setting time, polish the surface with a ball made of a plastic sheet (HDPE).

It is also possible to use Marseille soap or Corfu soap in the same way: 2-3 teaspoons of soap + 2 litres of water.

The Tadelakt must be completely dry once a day. It is advisable to dry the shower walls with a soft cloth after each use. Discoloration and mildew can occur if the Tadelakt remains wet for too long in the matte areas.

 

REPAIRS

Scrape or cut off the entire layer of Tadelakt on the damaged area, then repair with the original material. Repairs will be visible; these are the usual “aging marks”.

 

DRYING TIME

Dry after 2-3 days if the thickness of Tadelakt is 3 mm. Treat the surface gently during the first 3 months. Final hardness is reached after about 6 months.

 

CLEANING OF TOOLS

Clean with water immediately after use.

 

Technical data

Before using this product, consult the technical data sheet available below. Please note that the yield of Tadelakt is given for the 2 coats necessary to achieve this finish. The yield may vary depending on the substrate, the application method and the quality of the surface. Determine exact yield by testing.

Technical Data Sheet

 

 

Color chart

Choose one of the 72 shades in our color chart and rediscover the forgotten gestures of the craftsman by mixing your own color using Tockay natural dry pigments!

All natural, non-toxic and free of petroleum-based chemicals, our pigments are packaged in powder form and are easily mixed with water and then incorporated into the paint or plaster according to a precise recipe. For GekkkoSOL silicate-based paints, use GekkkoSOL thinner to dilute the pigments.

– Always be sure to remove lumps

– Ultramarine pigments should be used within 12 hours of preparation when mixed with a lime-based product

All color charts available online as well as the paper brochures are orientation guides only. Differences may appear in the representation of colors due to computer screen settings or printing.

To view a more accurate version of our colors, we invite you to make an appointment to visit us in our showroom.

 

Please consult:

72 tint color chart and recipes 

How to tint your paint or coating with dry pigments

Natural dry pigments

 

© Copyright - Distribution Tockay inc. | Proudly created and hosted by Québec Studio

Description

Le Tadelakt Tockay est un enduit à la chaux inspiré d’une ancienne tradition marocaine. Ses qualités sont identiques à celles de la chaux de Marrakech: brillant et résistant à l’eau. Le tadelakt ne s’applique pas seulement sur les murs, on le trouve aussi sur les lavabos, les dessus de table, les carreaux et poteries en terre cuite, et bien sûr dans les hammams. La technique de la pose du tadelakt s’adresse aux initiés. On l’applique avec différentes spatules pour le serrer, puis un galet en céramique, et enfin on le polit avec du savon de Marseille.

 

Application

Lors de l’utilisation du produit, les informations complètes sur le produit doivent être respectées.

 

PRÉPARATION DU TADELAKT

Verser la poudre dans la quantité indiquée d’eau propre et froide, remuer en utilisant un mélangeur (une perceuse munie d’un fouet) puissant jusqu’`a obtention d’une pâte sans grumeaux. Nettoyer le bord du seau avec une truelle de temps en temps. Laisser reposer au moins 30 minutes, mélanger à nouveau avant l’emploi.

Cette préparation doit être utilisée dans un délai maximal de 8 à 10 heures.

 

QUANTITÉ D’EAU À UTILISER

0,25 litre d’eau pour 1 kg de poudre. Possibilité d’augmenter la quantité d’eau si nécessaire.

 

TEINTER

Le Tadelakt peut être teinté avec un maximum de 10 % de pigments Tockay. Par exemple : 10 kg de Tadelakt peut être teinté avec 1 kg de pigment. La quantité de pigment ne doit pas dépasser 5 % pour les pigments aux oxydes de fer et en blanc de titane.

Mélanger les pigments avec un peu d’eau jusqu’à l’obtention d’une pâte sans grumeaux. On obtient un meilleur résultat en dissolvant les pigments avec de l’eau déminéralisée. Ajouter ensuite les pigments, soit dans l’eau de préparation du Tadelakt, avant d’incorporer la poudre de Tadelakt, soit directement dans le Tadelakt déjà préparé. Bien mélanger le tout pour obtenir une teinte uniforme. Nettoyer de temps en temps les rebords du seau avec une truelle.

 

OUTILS RECOMMANDÉS

– Galet de céramique pour Tadelakt

– Spatule en plastique (3 morceaux de tailles différentes)

– Truelle lisseuse (200 x 80 mm)

Le galet de céramique, utilisé comme pierre à polir, a une dureté de 9,5 (Mohs) et est exempt de pores.

 

SURFACES APPROPRIÉES

Les surfaces les mieux adaptées au Tadelakt, dans les endroits secs ou humides, sont les surfaces maçonnées recouvertes d’une couche d’au moins 1,5 cm d’enduit à la chaux ou d’enduit de chaux/ciment, tous deux non traités et solides. Le Tadelakt peut ensuite être posé directement sur cette surface.

Les surfaces suivantes peuvent être recouvertes de Tadelakt seulement après avoir été enduites d’un apprêt à la caséine et d’une couche intermédiaire d’enduit à la chaux 0.9 mm : plaques de plâtre, plâtre-cellulose, enduit au plâtre, panneaux de fibres de ciment, béton.

Les surfaces composées de panneaux doivent être complètement renforcées si nécessaire : insérer un treillis de fibre de verre dans l’enduit à la chaux, puis le recouvrir.

Les surfaces doivent être sèches et rugueuses : le Tadelakt ne doit pas être appliqué sur des surfaces lisses. Appliquer l’enduit de manière à arrondir les coins et les bords, éviter d’accentuer leur angle. Ne pas utiliser de moulure d’angle. Enlever les accumulations de liant et la matière frittée des surfaces enduites.

Le Tadelakt ne convient pas sur des surfaces constamment humides.

Dans les zones sèches, le Tadelakt peut également être appliqué sur des enduits à l’argile. La solidité d’une surface enduite à l’argile est primordiale et l’application subséquente du Tadelakt est à vos risques. Nous recommandons de pré-durcir la surface avec du verre soluble au potassium, dilution : 1 volume de verre soluble au potassium + 3 volumes d’eau. Laisser sécher au moins 24 heures.

Poser ensuite une couche d’apprêt à la caséine, puis une couche intermédiaire d’enduit à la chaux 1.4 mm en y intégrant un treillis en fibre de verre.

 

DANS LES ENDROITS HUMIDES

S’assurer du bon drainage de l’eau sur les murs des douches et autour des baignoires. Comme le silicone n’adhère pas au Tadelakt savonné, il faut séparer les surfaces de Tadelakt des sols et des bacs avec une bande de mosaïque ou de carreaux, puis fermer le joint avec du silicone. Veuillez vous reporter au dessin détaillé en dernière page.

Dans les zones humides, l’utilisation d’un apprêt d’étanchéité est recommandée. Ne pas appliquer le Tadelakt sur des enduits d’argile dans des zones humides.

 

APPLICATION

Le Tadelakt doit être appliqué en deux couches. Ces deux couches, tout comme le premier traitement au savon, doivent être réalisés dans une même journée.

Protéger le Tadelakt d’un dessèchement trop rapide pendant l’application, éviter les courants d’air, les températures élevées et la lumière directe du soleil. Mouiller les surfaces sèches avant l’application.

1ère couche de Tadelakt

Appliquer à la truelle la première couche de Tadelakt sur toute la surface, sur une épaisseur à peine plus grande que la grosseur du grain (environ 1-1,5 mm). Laisser durcir jusqu’à ce que la surface devienne résistante aux chocs. La 1ère couche de Tadelakt ne doit pas être lissée, polie ou densifiée et ne doit pas sécher complètement avant l’application de la 2ème couche.

2ème couche de Tadelakt

Appliquer à la truelle la 2ème couche de Tadelakt sur toute la surface, sur une épaisseur à peine plus grande que la grosseur du grain (environ 1-1,5 mm) et laisser prendre. Les surfaces plates peuvent être serrée à la truelle. Ensuite, polir la surface en déplaçant le galet de céramique en petits cercles et en exerçant une légère pression jusqu’à ce que tous les pores soient fermés et que la brillance soit obtenue. Le bon moment du serrage et du polissage dépend de l’absorption du support, de son humidité résiduelle et des conditions ambiantes qui peuvent fortement varier.

1ère couche de savon

La première couche de savon doit être appliquée peu de temps après le polissage de la 2ème couche de Tadelakt. Le Tadelakt ne doit pas avoir séché complètement, il doit rester un peu humide. Diluer le savon à lisser : 1 volume de savon + 6 volumes d’eau. Appliquer avec une brosse souple la solution de savon de manière uniforme et enlever les excédents. Laisser agir un peu de temps, puis polir avec le galet de céramique jusqu’à obtenir un brillant régulier.

2ème couche de savon

Lorsque la surface est complètement sèche (maximum après 2 jours), appliquer à nouveau la solution de savon. Laisser agir un peu, puis polir la surface avec une boule confectionnée en feuille de plastique (HDPE, de type sac en plastique transparent).

 

TRAITEMENTS SUPPLÉMENTAIRES

Pour obtenir une brillance plus élevée, le Tadelakt peut être ciré. Utiliser la cire uniquement sur des surfaces savonnées. Ne jamais l’utiliser sur des zones humides ou affectées par des éclaboussures d’eau (risque de taches blanches).

Appliquer une fine couche de cire punique avec un chiffon doux et lustrer directement avec ce chiffon.

Il est possible d’augmenter la brillance de la même manière avec l’émulsion de cire de Carnauba Tockay.

 

NETTOYAGE ET ENTRETIEN

Nettoyage : Nettoyer les surfaces de Tadelakt uniquement avec de l’eau additionnée d’un peu de savon de Marseille ou de savon de Corfou : environ 1-2 cuillères à café pour 8 litres d’eau. Utiliser une éponge douce.

Pour éviter les dépôts calcaires, assécher les murs de douche avec un chiffon doux après chaque utilisation.

Ne pas utiliser d’autres produits de nettoyage ménagers, d’éponges à récurer et de chiffons en microfibre.

 

Entretien : Pour bien préserver la fonctionnalité des zones humides, le Tadelakt doit être « post-savonné » tous les 1-2 mois. Éviter les zones mates qui doivent être traitée directement avec du savon. Pour tout le reste, appliquer du savon à lisser dilué (voir ci-dessus «1ère couche de savon »). Après un petit temps de prise, polir la surface avec une boule faite d’une feuille de plastique (HDPE).

Il est également possible d’utiliser du savon de Marseille ou du savon de Corfou de la même manière :  2-3 cuillères à café de savon + 2 litres d’eau.

Le Tadelakt doit être complètement sec une fois par jour. Il est conseillé de sécher les murs de la douche avec un chiffon doux après chaque utilisation. Des décolorations et des moisissures peuvent apparaître si le Tadelakt reste humide trop longtemps dans les zones mates.

 

RÉPARATIONS

Gratter ou couper au couteau toute la couche de Tadelakt sur la partie endommagée, puis réparer avec le matériau d’origine. Les réparations seront visibles, ce sont des « traces de vieillissement » habituelles.

 

TEMPS DE SÉCHAGE

Sec après 2-3 jours si l’épaisseur du Tadelakt est de 3 mm. Traiter la surface en douceur pendant les 3 premiers mois. La dureté finale est atteinte après environ 6 mois.

 

NETTOYAGE DES OUTILS

Nettoyer à l’eau tout de suite après l’emploi.

 

Données techniques

Il est à noter que le rendement peut varier selon le support, la méthode d’application, la qualité de la surface. Déterminer la consommation exacte par des essais.

Avant l’utilisation de ce produit, consulter sa fiche technique disponible ci-dessous :

Fiche technique

 

 

© Copyright - Distribution Tockay | Fièrement réalisé et hébergé par Québec Studio