Description

The glaze binder is made of casein. It can be diluted with water to create interior wall glazes. It can be mixed with all Tockay dry pigments to create a decorative look. It can also be used without pigment to increase the protection of surfaces, making them less microporous.

 

Application

When using the product, the complete product information must be observed.

 

SURFACE PREPARATION

To ensure an optimal result, always apply a glaze on a paint or plaster whose base has been adequately treated.  It is important that the surfaces treated with the glaze binder have a homogeneous absorption.

 

MIXING THE GLAZE

1- Mixing the pigments: Mix 10g to 100g of pigments in a small container with a little water.

2- Glaze Mixing: It is recommended to mix in a small bucket and use an electric mixer or an egg beater. Add 100g of powdered binder to 1 litre of cold water while stirring to eliminate lumps. Let stand for 30 minutes before stirring again.

3- Thinning the glaze: The binder can be further diluted (step 2) depending on the surface and the desired glaze effects:

– Dilute the binder with 2 to 4 litres of water to bring out brushstrokes/tool marks and to achieve stenciling techniques.

– Dilute the binder with 5 to 6 litres of water to obtain smooth glazes or surfaces with a pronounced texture.

– Dilute the binder with 7 to 8 litres of water for multi-layer glazes and to avoid binder build-up and shiny areas.

– Dilute the binder with at least 7 quarts of water to solidify a coated surface.

The amount of water can be increased depending on the surface.

4- Tinting: Gradually incorporate the mixed pigments (step 1) into the diluted binder (step 3) until the desired color intensity is obtained. Tip: To get a quick overview of the color, apply the glaze on white paper and dry it with a hair dryer. Note, however, that depending on the absorption of the surface, the use of the hair dryer may lighten the shade slightly. To ensure that the desired color intensity is obtained, do a final test on the surface to be decorated and let dry normally.

 

APPLICATION

It is strongly recommended to apply the glaze with a brush in a criss-cross pattern.  Avoid applying it horizontally, vertically, circularly or in a checkerboard pattern.  Always allow the paint contours to thicken in an irregular manner.

The application possibilities are endless: brush, sponge, cloth or spalter. We recommend the brushed (‘’criss-cross strokes’’) technique. Avoid horizontal or vertical applications.

Glaze should be applied the day it is prepared. Do not use it if it shows signs of rotting or if it smells bad; otherwise, the smell may linger, even after drying.

 

DRYING

Second coat possible after about 4 hours at 20°C. Completely dry after 24 hours.

 

TIPS

– For beginners, it is advisable to try out the product beforehand to become familiar with it.

– It is recommended to work the glaze without rubbing for too long on water-reversible surfaces, e.g. covered with vegetable milk or clay paint. Otherwise, there is a risk of dissolving these paints, and thus losing the desired glaze effect.   It is therefore advisable to apply the glaze quickly.

– In case of persistent lumps in the mixture, filter them with a nylon stocking.

 

COLORLESS FINISH TO SOLIDIFY A PLASTERED SURFACE

The glaze must be strongly diluted when used to solidify a clay or other plaster surfaces. Add 7 litres of water to one litre of prepared glaze and mix with or without pigment. Apply the glaze evenly with a brush or a sprayer. Do not roll! It is important that the glaze is completely absorbed by the surface; otherwise, there is a risk of creating shiny areas that remain visible.  Application should be done from the bottom up to avoid streaks in the glaze). It is possible that the color of the coating will become slightly darker. It is therefore important to test before applying the product on large surfaces to evaluate the change in color tone and potential reactions (white spots, efflorescence) on the coating. Check resistance after drying. Repeat treatment if necessary.

 

CLEANING OF TOOLS

Clean with water immediately after use.

 

Technical data

It should be noted that the yield may vary depending on the substrate, the application method and the quality of the surface. Determine exact consumption by testing.

Before using this product, consult its Technical Data Sheet available below:

Technical Data Sheet

 

© Copyright - Distribution Tockay inc. | Proudly created and hosted by Québec Studio

Description

Le liant pour glacis est à base de caséine. Il se dilue à l’eau pour la réalisation de glacis muraux d’intérieur. Il peut être mélangé avec tous les pigments secs Kreidezeit pour créer un aspect décoratif. ll peut également être utilisé sans pigment pour augmenter la protection des surfaces, les rendant moins micro-poreuses.

 

Application

Lors de l’utilisation du produit, les informations complètes sur le produit doivent être respectées.

 

PRÉPARATION DE LA SURFACE

Afin de s’assurer d’un rendu final optimal, toujours appliquer un glacis sur une peinture ou un enduit dont les fonds ont été traités de manière adéquate.  Il est important que les surfaces traitées au liant au glacis présentent une absorption homogène.

 

MÉLANGE DU GLACIS

1- Mélange des pigments : Mélanger dans un petit récipient 10 g à 100 g de pigments dans un peu d’eau.

2- Mélange du glacis : Il est conseillé de faire le mélange dans un petit seau et d’utiliser un mélangeur électrique ou un batteur à œuf. Ajouter 100 g de liant en poudre à 1 litre d’eau froide tout remuant pour éliminer les grumeaux. Laisser reposer 30 minutes avant de bien remuer à nouveau.

3- Dilution du glacis : Le liant peut être davantage dilué (étape 2) dépendamment de la surface et des effets de glacis désirés :

– Diluer le liant avec 2 à 4 litres d’eau pour faire ressortir les coups de pinceau / traces d’outils et pour réaliser des techniques de pochoir.

– Diluer le liant avec 5 à 6 litres d’eau pour obtenir des glacis lisses ou des surfaces avec une texture prononcée.

– Diluer le liant avec 7 à 8 litres d’eau pour les lasures multicouches et pour éviter les accumulations de liant et les zones brillantes.

– Diluer le liant avec au moins 7 litres d’eau pour solidifier une surface enduite.

La quantité d’eau peut être augmentée selon les surfaces.

4- Teinte : Incorporer peu à peu les pigments mélangés (étape 1) dans le liant dilué (étape 3) jusqu’à l’obtention de l’intensité de la couleur désirée. Truc : Pour avoir un aperçu rapide de la teinte, appliquer le glacis sur du papier blanc et le sécher avec un séchoir à cheveux. Noter toutefois que, dépendamment de l’absorption de la surface, l’usage du séchoir risque d’éclaircir légèrement la teinte. Pour s’assurer d’obtenir l’intensité de couleur souhaitée, faire un test final sur la surface à décorer et laisser sécher normalement.

 

APPLICATION

Il est fortement recommandé d’appliquer le glacis à la brosse en entrecroisant le mouvement.  Il faut donc éviter de l’appliquer de manière horizontale, verticale ou circulaire, ou encore en damier.  Toujours laisser les contours de peinture s’épaissir de manière irrégulière.

Les possibilités d’application sont illimitées : l’application peut se faire à la brosse, à l’éponge, au chiffon ou autre spalter. Nous recommandons la technique brossée. Évitez les applications horizontales ou verticales.

 Le glacis doit être appliqué le jour de sa préparation. Ne pas l’utiliser s’il montre des signes de pourrissement ou s’il sent mauvais ; à défaut, cette odeur risque de se prolonger, même après séchage.

 

SÉCHAGE

Deuxième couche possible après environ 4 heures à 20°C. Complètement sec après 24 heures.

 

CONSEILS

– Pour les débutants, il est conseillé de faire des essais au préalable afin de se familiariser avec le produit.

– Il est recommandé de travailler le glacis sans frotter trop longtemps sur les surfaces réversibles à l’eau, couvertes par exemple de peinture au lait végétal ou à l’argile. À défaut, on risque de dissoudre ces peintures, et de perdre ainsi l’effet lasure souhaité.   Il est donc conseillé d’appliquer rapidement le glacis.

– En cas de grumeaux persistants dans le mélange, les filtrer à l’aide d’un bas de nylon.

 

FINITION INCOLORE POUR SOLIDIER UNE SURFACE RECOUVERTE D’ENDUIT

Le glacis doit être fortement dilué lorsqu’il est utilisé pour solidifier une surface en argile ou autre enduit. Il faut ainsi ajouter 7 litres d’eau dans un litre de glacis déjà préparé et mélanger avec ou sans pigment.   Appliquer le glacis de manière uniforme avec une brosse ou un vaporisateur. Ne pas rouler ! Il est important que le glacis soit totalement absorbé par la surface ; à défaut, on risque de créer des zones de brillance qui restent visibles.  L’application doit être effectuée de bas en haut pour éviter les traces dans le vernis). Il est possible que la couleur de l’enduit devienne légèrement plus foncée. Il est donc important de faire des tests avant d’appliquer le produit sur de grandes surfaces afin d’évaluer le changement de ton de la couleur et de potentielles réactions (taches blanches, efflorescence) sur l’enduit. Vérifiez la résistance après séchage. Répéter le traitement si nécessaire.

 

NETTOYAGE DES OUTILS

Nettoyer à l’eau tout de suite après l’emploi.

 

Données techniques

Il est à noter que le rendement peut varier selon le support, la méthode d’application, la qualité de la surface. Déterminer la consommation exacte par des essais.

Avant l’utilisation de ce produit, consulter sa fiche technique disponible ci-dessous :

Fiche technique

 

 

© Copyright - Distribution Tockay | Fièrement réalisé et hébergé par Québec Studio